

MANAGEMENT REPORT

Date:	February 24, 2025
То:	Mayor and Council
From:	Audrey Pascual, Deputy Clerk
Report Number:	COU25-020
Attachments:	None

Title: Appointment to the Stratford Economic Enterprise Development Corporation Board of Directors

Objective: To consider the appointment of one individual to the Stratford Economic Enterprise Development Corporation (SEEDCo./investStratford) Board of Directors.

Background: The SEEDCo./investStratford is managed by a Board of twelve (12) Directors. Pursuant to By-law No. 1 of the Corporation, Directors are comprised of persons in the following classes:

- The Mayor of the City of Stratford (ex officio)
- Two (2) members of Stratford City Council, appointed among its members
- The Chief Administrative Officer of the City of Stratford (ex officio)
- Eight (8) nominee Directors appointed by City Council, from the following categories:
 - a. one member of the public
 - b. one member from the University of Waterloo or Festival Hydro Services Inc.
 - c. six (6) members with one to be appointed from local small businesses in the following sectors: digital/creative, economy, agriculture, manufacturing, technology and banking/financial.

Analysis: Following the resignation of Michael Adams, a vacancy for the Digital Media/Creative Economy sector representative is to be filled.

The application of Sarah Hamza is listed for consideration.

Training is provided by SEEDCo./investStratford to newly appointed members.

Financial Implications: There are no financial implications to be reported as a result of this report.

Alignment with Strategic Priorities:

Not applicable: This report does not directly relate to one of Council's Strategic Priorities.

Alignment with One Planet Principles:

Not applicable: This report does not directly relate to one of the One Planet Principles.

Staff Recommendation: THAT Sarah Hamza, representing the Digital Media/Creative Economy sector, be appointed to the Stratford Economic Enterprise Development Corporation Board of Directors for the remainder of the three-year term to June 2027 or until a successor is appointed by Council.

Prepared by:	Audrey Pascual, Deputy Clerk
Recommended by:	Joan Thomson, Chief Administrative Officer