

BY-LAW NUMBER XXX-2024 OF THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF STRATFORD

BEING a By-law to authorize the execution of the Purchase of Service Agreement with Little Lake Residential for the St. Marys Fixed Site Supported Housing Program.

WHEREAS Section 5(3) of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c.25, as amended, ("the Municipal Act, 2001") provides that a municipal power shall be exercised by By-law;

AND WHEREAS Section 8(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that the powers of a municipality under this or any other Act, shall be interpreted broadly so as to confer broad authority on the municipality to enable the municipality to govern its affairs as it considers appropriate and to enhance the municipality's ability to respond to municipal issues;

AND WHEREAS Section 9 of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that a municipality has the capacity, rights, powers and privileges of a natural person for the purpose of exercising its authority under this or any other Act;

AND WHEREAS The Corporation of the City of Stratford operating as the Consolidated Municipal Service Manager for The Corporation of the City of Stratford, Town of St. Marys and County of Perth established the St. Marys Fixed Site Supported Housing Program with funding provided by the Province of Ontario through the Homelessness Prevention Program;

AND WHEREAS Council for The Corporation of the City of Stratford wishes to enter into a Purchase of Service Agreement with Little Lake Residential for the continued operation of the St. Marys Fixed Site Supported Housing Program;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ENACTED by the Council of The Corporation of the City of Stratford as follows:

1. That the Purchase of Service Agreement dated the 1st day April, 2024 between The Corporation of the City of Stratford and Little Lake Residential, be entered into and the Mayor and Clerk, or their respective delegates, be and the same are hereby authorized to execute the said agreement on behalf of and for this Corporation and to affix the corporate seal thereto.

Read a FIRST, SECOND and THIRD time and

FINALLY PASSED this 15th day of October, 2024.

Mayor – Martin Ritsma

Clerk – Tatiana Dafoe