

## BY-LAW NUMBER XX-2023 OF THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF STRATFORD

BEING a By-law to abandon a portion of the McFarlane Municipal Drain in the City of Stratford.

**WHEREAS** subsection 5(1) of the *Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001 c.25,* as amended, ("the Municipal Act, 2001") provides that the powers of a municipal corporation are to be exercised by its council;

**AND WHEREAS** subsection 5(3) of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that the powers of council are to be exercised by by-law unless the municipality is specifically authorized to do otherwise;

**AND WHEREAS** Section 84 of the *Drainage Act, R.S.O. 1990*, as amended, ("the Drainage Act") provides for the abandonment of a drainage works or a part thereof by by-law;

**AND WHEREAS** the existing McFarlane Drain was originally constructed under a report dated June 27, 1969, prepared by R. M. Dawson, P. Eng., which appears to have been initiated through the Township of Downie under the provisions of the Drainage Act;

**AND WHEREAS** the City of Stratford has notified all owners of land assessed for the drainage works of its intention to abandon 400m of the McFarlane Drain on Lot 6, Concession 1 in the former Township of Downie, now in the City of Stratford, in accordance with Section 84 of the Drainage Act;

**AND WHEREAS** no property owner has requested the appointment of an engineer to examine the abandonment within the time period specified in the Drainage Act;

**AND WHEREAS** the City of Stratford shall assume the future costs of maintenance and repair of the new storm drainage system replacing the drain as outlet under the provisions of the *Ontario Water Resources Act*;

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT ENACTED** by the Council of The Corporation of the City of Stratford as follows:

- 1. That the 400m portion of the McFarlane Municipal Drain contained within the boundaries of Lot 6, Concession 1 is hereby abandoned.
- 2. This by-law shall come into force and effect on the date of passage.

Read a FIRST, SECOND and THIRD time and FINALLY PASSED this 8th day of May, 2023.

Mayor – Martin Ritsma

Clerk – Tatiana Dafoe